Music and Pr’s

What is the one thing that makes everyone stronger

You might think steroids, or a better belt, better shoes or a good crew to train with. But, you would be wrong everyone lifts in individual ways and what works for one of us may be greatly detrimental for someone else.

The one thing that makes the biggest difference for everyone is Music taste might differ between lifters, for me, I enjoy listening to Trap, Rap, and EDM.

I know Bryce Lewis as an example really enjoys listening to pop music before and while he lifts and a lot of people get hyped up because of intense death metal or screamo.

I like to listen to the lyrics, I value the aggression and the intensity of the beat. It reverberates my natural energy and incites the passion that burns inside me.

“Music is like is a legal drug for athletes,” says Costas Karageorghis, Ph.D., from London’s Brunel University School of Sport and Education, one of the world’s leading authorities on music and exercise. “It can reduce the perception of effort significantly and increase endurance by as much as 15 percent.”

It makes sense if you think about it. Music is a guideline to our lives, we listen to sad music when we are down and happy music to boost our happiness. Having a type of music that is associated with your training reminds you to get into the zone and helps you in lifting the most weight you possibly can.

Personally, I have always been one to get in the zone and listen to my PR songs to hype me up before attempts because the intense focus has always been the best way for me to succeed in any sports. But, that is just me. I have seen many people at meets listen to no music and chat to friends all the way up to their attempts.

However, there is a huge caveat to music as a medium for performance enhancement and that is overuse. This is the only negative thing about music, it is highly likely that you are not the only person that likes the song. If it is radio friendly and current it will most likely be blasted on the regular and can lead to the song becoming less effective to you when you really need it; PR time.

So it is crucially important that you protect your songs. Have a playlist that is purely for meets or PR’s and doesn’t use them unless you have to. Personally, I have a selection of workout playlists for a variety of occasions and I try to use them sparingly.

Ultimately, find a genre that gets you pumped and use it, a reduction in the perception of effort is no joke. So I leave you with a challenge do 80% of your max for an AMRAP with music and on a separate day without, there might be a difference, but there is only one way to find out! Leave a comment with your results!

 

 

Leave a Reply

