Balance

Life is a foray of confusion and decisions, that either resolve or worsen the confusion. Although from confusion comes clarity. For a variety of reasons, I am feeling the most resolute and balanced that I have for a while.

But, I don’t write this to boast. Rather I want to outline the importance of finding balance in your life.

As I always mention, lifting is a holistic pursuit. If you fall down in one element, you are likely to underperform and not receive the results you hoped to achieve. In the lead up to Nationals, I worked extremely hard to reach the goals I set for myself. I was on autopilot, nothing could stand in the way of me achieving what I wanted.

While this obviously helped me to become successful in reaching the numbers I set for myself, it didn’t help me to be less stressed or resolute in general.

Now I don’t mean you should stop caring so much about the gym, or find something else to occupy your time. But, I am a firm believer in balance.

Here is an example: it is Friday night and your friends invite you to go out for a drink at a bar. But, you have to train tomorrow. You really have 3 choices: don’t lift on Saturday, don’t go out, or find a happy medium stay out for a little while and maybe have a beer or two.

The reality is that one or two beers won’t dramatically impact your training, or throw off your entire regimen. Obviously, this is all within reason, making that into a habit is not going to be conducive to success in your training. However, it is much more important to be focused on enjoying the present.

I am an extremely future-focused person. I always tend to consider where I will be in 5 years, 10 years, even 30 years. But, over the past few months, I have been working really hard on staying present focused. For the most part, this has helped my state of mind and my training.

I took on a coach to help me with my training, divided up my time more effectively and ensured I set regular sleeping times. All of this combined is helping me to be happier and more successful holistically then ever before.

So while all of this is not directly related to lifting, consider one thing. When did you perform the best in anything you did? I guarantee that this was when you were clear of mind. You were probably pretty happy too I bet! We all know how important it is to be clearheaded and focused on the training sessions, so why not set yourself up for success outside of the gym. Remember that success is never just singular, it is a journey, not a simple one but if you find that crucial balance, success will be easy!

Leave a Reply

