Road to Raw Nationals: 9/15/16

“It’s not the load that breaks you down, it’s the way you carry it.”-Lou Holtz.

^^^^The past few weeks^^^^ Life has been pretty stressful. For a variety of reasons, I will not go into. Primarily, a result of a hectic school/work/involvement schedule combined with a steadily increasing level of intensity for powerlifting. I am starting to feel slightly overwhelmed. For the most part, my training has been going well. Last week I suffered a hip injury doing heavy deficit deadlifts. I was borderline unable to walk/sit/stand/sleep. So that was a good experience. As a result, I took it easy on squats last week and conserved my energy for heavy deadlifts on Saturday.

I managed to get 540 for 2×2 with only mild pain. Which is comforting considering I have to do 555 x2 this Saturday and then increase intensity with singles following that. I am partially sure that the hex plates caused this. I like to find ways that it is not my fault! But, on a serious note, my hip felt like absolute shit. However, I spent most of the week doing some stretching and mobility, as well as “light” training to keep my movements in check. The result, still a decent amount of pain, but, a┬áconsiderable improvement. People say I should just stop, but being 4 weeks out is preventative of that. Plus I have never pulled out of a meet and I am certainly not about to start with nationals! Getting to this meet has been such a huge achievement for me, I have worked so hard to prepare and I will not let anything get in my way of that!

I am just trying to be positive about the whole situation, I am doing my best to not let the pain affect my performance. I am still really confident with my Bench and Deadlift, the squat seems to have suffered more, I am going to try and keep pushing the squat!

I have never been this excited for a competition before, but in 4 weeks 1099 lifters and I will be taking the 4 platforms and the Atlanta convention center and going head to head in what is the biggest event in U.S powerlifting. I am just excited to be a part of that! I am going to keep things in perspective, and remember strength has no limit!

Leave a Reply

