The lonely road.

Success is never singular. It is a consistent and malleable evolution. In order to reach success, one must sacrifice everything for a guarantee of nothing. Winston Churchill once said: “Success consists of going from failure to failure without a loss of enthusiam.” This quote is a guiding principle in my life.

Yet it is always so difficult to accept. Reality is like a ton of bricks falling on your head. The world doesn’t care how hard you work, how long you’ve been trying, or how much you care! If you fail, you fail and for many that is too tough to take. That is why I sit writing this article, the journey for success if lonely. Dreams and goals are unique to an individual, even if you find a “soulmate” that shares your perspective on the world and pursues a similar vision. You will never want the exact same things. That’s why success is so difficult.

Sure, there will be people that support you. But, they come and go no one can be as invested in your goals as you, otherwise, they are not your goals! I am not writing this to be depressing or tell you to ditch everyone around you and focus on yourself. I just want to share some of the experiences that I have had and the things that I have learnt from them.

The most important thing that aids your success is to surround yourself with the right people. Like I mentioned before, dreams are unique to you and that’s great! But, it is hard to stay motivated 24/7 therefore, one must surround oneself with people that motivate you to work harder. Think about it like this, you all probably remember the one guy in your home town that still works in the grocery store you worked at in Highschool. Still stacking shelves working for $7.00 an hour and not doing a whole lot of anything. That’s not to degrade people that do that, but, that is certainly not success in my view. I look at myself at a good University in a hard degree program with all my goals and desires, it is impossible for me to fail.

I am surrounded by people that are better than me, stronger than me, smarter than me, more attractive than me! Some people take that as a negative: why even try if you’ll never be the best? but that’s non-sensical. In my mind, you must try harder, work harder and push yourself even more because you cannot afford to be complacent. “To be number one, you must train like you are number two”-Maurice Green. This quote is very accurate, this is why we respect multiple champions so much more, it is easy to win once but you instantly put a target on your back and then you have to work harder to stay there.

This is where the loneliness comes in. The journey to success is long and hard and really difficult to enjoy sometimes. You can’t relax, take time off or slow down. You have to sacrifice a lot, sometimes time with family, sometimes dates, always sleep. That can be really hard for some people. But, the important thing to realize is that is payment for the goal you will eventually achieve. If you wholeheartedly believe in yourself and never accept failure you will always win. Whether it is a gold medal, owning your own business, or being a Hollywood star, the end is always worth the means. Don’t drop everything and focus only on your goal, but, understand that you will not be able to get everything you want all the time. Life would be way too easy if that was the case. Just do your best to enjoy the journey and be relentless about your goals, because it will all be worth it in the end!

That’s all just my opinion/experience but, understanding all of that has really helped me to enjoy the journey to my success a lot more! So work hard and remember that strength has no limit!

One thought on “The lonely road.

Leave a Reply

