Breaking Bro-Science No.10

Just freeball it, bro!!

Picture this: you are at your local training spot, the true happy place which occupies your every dream. The only place where nothing matters apart from the work you are doing. You walk in to approach the deadlift platform, there is some dude in a gym shark stringer pulling 135 in running shoes. Shit.. I guess I’ll wait.

You approach the aspiring physique competitor and pose the famous question: how many more sets? He responds: I am not sure I just started. Firstly, not only is that not an answer to the question how can you not know????

Whenever I walk into the gym I have a plan, a guide that outlines my expectations from the day. Now I don’t always follow it 100% but having some idea of what you aim to achieve is vital. The guy in the example above is common, it is not simply an issue of annoyance, despite being an irritating habit, it is more one of inability to comprehend.

Making continual progress is so difficult. After all, I can’t think of any reason a person would physiologically need to lift a 600-pound stick of the ground and put it back down again. That is to say on a basic level, the vast majority of strength training is in a format that is perhaps not ideal for us to adapt to. Thus making continual progress for a long period of time (the only drug-free way to maximize strength) is  extremely difficult. I raise this to consider the example once more. The guy occupying your deadlift platform with no plan and no consideration of his goals is shooting himself in the foot. By now you can probably tell I am a very judgemental person. That does not mean I want people to fail. I think people like that irritate me so much because they are not maximizing their opportunities.

I see the same few people in the gym at 6am every day, I think to myself you are the people that truly deserve to succeed. You have all made a great sacrifice to be here right now and you are all working hard towards a common goal: betterement. But, much as the people are always the same often times the weight they use is as well. There is one person in particular, ever since I started in my gym he has been there, and yet he still squats 225 with the same form that he did a year ago. While I have added 100 pounds to my squat. Ok the squat may not be his primary concern and that’s fine, but progress can still be made.

This guy never seems to have a set or rep scheme in mind simply walking in, no warm up 225 for a random amount of sets and then doing something else. I watch him walk aimlessly around the gym considering his next movement. This guy would be so much better of if he found a program. Anything! Below I will outline a simple 2-week program that can be used to help you find consistency.


 

Sample program.png

There you go easy program to follow that I just made in 5 minutes. All you have to do is rotate between a 3×5 and 5×5 on your main movements adding 5 pounds every other week and secondary movement is the opposite. Simple changes could be switching pause squats to tempo squats or close grip with incline bench. But, a program like this can be the skeleton for a much more developed and progressive periodization template.

So what I want you to realize is that having an outline of goals for training, more specifically individual training cycles and on a micro level daily workouts can unlock a cavern of unexplored success. Don’t waste your energy by spinning your wheels. If you are interested in getting a coach to help you on your journey email me at collegestrength@gmail.com or fill out our form at http://www.collegestrength.org and remember strength has no limit!

Leave a Reply

