Road to Raw Nationals 6/27/16

Training, training, training, being 17 weeks out is nice, but, also boring! I have 17 weeks to prepare for the biggest meet of my life, staying focused on that goal though is a little tough. I have hit some good training progress in the past couple weeks, a few days ago I squatted 425 which was a little PR for me at an RPE 8 so definitely way more in the tank.

My weight is moving up nicely as well, I hit a new lifetime high of 213.8 this week so I am excited to keep putting on some weight and really fill out the 105 class. I have a lot to do in preparation, both mentally and physically. As I have mentioned before, I am now just over my first year of powerlifting training, so this will be my first experience of high-level competition.

With that in mind, I am drawing from my previous competition experience. At my last meet, I really struggled with grinding out weight in any lift, which really hindered my total from its true potential. My reasoning is that I rarely took heavy singles during training, during this training cycle I have included heavy triples, doubles, and singles to give myself the opportunity to succeed in the competition. In addition, I have been really hammering my weaknesses, throwing in high bar squatting, feet up benching and a lot of upper back work to strengthen my lockout ability. Moreover, I am now Squatting 3 times a week, Benching 4 times and Deadlifting twice a week which will hopefully boost my strength and endurance. I am a big proponent of sub-maximal training, but I think powerlifting is also a skills sport, so improving the skill of lifting heavy is also essential.

I think one of the biggest differences is going to be made outside of the gym, moving up a weight class puts me above my maintenance calories for the first time since I started powerlifting, so I am sure that It will make a big difference to my performance in the gym as well as my energy levels. Moreover, I am now making a conscientious effort to sleep 7 hours a night. This is really difficult for me as I have a hectic, school, work, and involvement schedule, combined with training for 2  or more hours 5 times a week makes it very difficult to find 8 hours to sleep. My goals for nationals now sit at 500, 310 and 650, some would argue this is a stretch but I feel  it coming up fast. I feel that I have 440 in 3 weeks easily on squat and I am probably sitting at around 285 on bench and 600ish on deadlift right now. So there is definitely a long way to go but I am certain I will get there. 1400 has been my short term (Within 3 years) goal and I want to blast it come October. Perception is

My goals for nationals now sit at 500, 310 and 650, some would argue this is a stretch but I feel  it coming up fast. I feel that I have 440 in 3 weeks easily on squat and I am probably sitting at around 285 on bench and 600ish on deadlift right now. So there is definitely a long way to go but I am certain I will get there. 1400 has been my short term (Within 3 years) goal and I want to blast it come October. Perception is reality, if you don’t believe you will never achieve. As Gary Zukav says “what is behind your eyes holds more weight than what is in front of them” I believe I can destroy my goals so I definitely will.

After watching classic worlds this weekend, my love for powerlifting and the intensity of the competition has me so fired up to progress in this sport. Powerlifting is unique in that the results you achieve in the day are almost directly reflective of how well you can prepare yourself both mentally and physically. People like the multiple time world champion Brett Gibbs have unwavering resolve carved out of limitless determination and sky-high aspirations. My dream is to become a world champion, it might not be soon, it will be hard but I will get there in the end! The sport of powerlifting has given me so much and I wish to reach the highest accolade achievable.

Anway website coming at you hot this Thursday check it: collegestrength.org and as always remember strength has no limit.

Leave a Reply

